Phantasy Trio

"They perform with great style and an evident passion for the music, and are great communicators with a range of audiences."   Mark Eynon, Director, Newbury Spring Festival

Music for every concert and occasion - Book us now!


Facebook square white large Twitter circle white large Mail white large Tel white large Twitter square white large Facebook square white large

Programme Notes - Acht Stücke, Bruch

Acht Stücke, Op. 83 Max Bruch (1838-1920)

No. I Andante

No. II Allegro con moto

No. III Andante con moto

No. IV Allegro agitato

No. V Rumanische Melodie

No. VI Nachtgesang

No. VII Allegro vivace, ma non troppo

No. VIII Moderato


Max Bruch was inspired by his son, Max Felix, a gifted clarinettist, to write the Acht Stücke (Eight Pieces) in 1910 when he was 72. Having already written the only (until the later twentieth century) double concerto for clarinet and viola, Bruch was greatly interested in new instrument combinations in his writing, and in fact numbers 3, 5 and 6 were originally for harp, clarinet and viola. Although published together, the eight pieces do not form a cycle and Bruch did not intend them to be strictly performed in this order or in an entirety without break or interjection. These Eight Pieces show a final successful return to chamber music for the mature Bruch, and with them he retired from composition.